Seismopolite is grateful for the generous support by the Arts Council Norway and the Freedom of Expression foundation Fritt Ord Foundation, Oslo.

          Fritt Ord


About Seismopolite Journal of Art and Politics

Seismopolite is a Norwegian-English quarterly which investigates the possibilities of artists and art scenes worldwide to reflect and influence their local political situation.

Seismopolite aims to highlight diverse artistic forms and strategies that stimulate new future trajectories in precarious socio-political situations, for example by critically examining geopolitical, cultural and historical master narratives, challenging and questioning the roots of censorship and violations of Human Rights, or working to reach understanding and bridge real or constructed differences in areas of conflict.

Related to this, Seismopolite also wishes to contribute to a renewed, critical attentiveness to the art market and art’s relation to neoliberal geopolitics – e.g. the role of art in geopolitical marketing strategies or its dependency on the neoliberal political geography of place/ space and local/ global – to assess the implications of these factors for the possibility of art to fill such political functions today.

Art Map! is an updated list of exhibitions, galleries, museums and art spaces in all the cities the Journal has visited.



Paal Andreas Bøe

Art Director

Aylin Soyer Tangen

Advisory Board

Rocío Aranda-Alvarado

Carla Macchiavello

June Yap

Alessandro Zagato


William Aitchison

Ana Sol Alderete

Rocío Aranda-Alvarado

Claudia Arozqueta

Kiril Avramov

Kate Bailey

Ilaria Benini

Nathalie Mba Bikoro

Meghan Bissonnette

Steven L. Bridges

Katherine L. Bruhn

Brian Brush

Mitha Budhyarto

Clare Butcher

Paal Andreas Bøe

Melissa Campbell

Zoe Charaktinou

Fabrizio Cilento

Kate Corder

Julie Crenn

Luiza Crosman

Mikala Hyldig Dal

Gitanjali Dang

Katadiou Diallo

Barnaby Drabble

Alkisti Efthymiou

Natalia Echeverri

Marie Egger

Irmgard Emmelhainz

Mylène Ferrand Lointier

Kathryn Floyd

Luigi Galimberti

Belinda Grace Gardner

Raimi Gbadamosi

Fiona Geuss

Övgü Gökçe

Christina Grevenbrock

Jeanine Griffin

Sabine Grosser

Laurent Gutierrez

Basma Hamdy

Fatima Hussain

Zahra Hussain

Keith Hussein

May Adadol Ingawanij

Atsuhide Ito

Farrah Karapetian

Carolin Köchling

Ana Gisela Laboureau

Bharti Lalwani

Yvonne Low

Daniela Lucena

Carla Macchiavello

Paolo Magagnoli

Dominique Malaquais

Chris Mansour

Federica Martini

Neery Melkonian

Howard Meltzer

Ivan Monforte

Jenny Morse

Carola Moujan

Shaily Mudgal

Lucía Naser

Josef Ng

Rafal Niemojewski

Jim Nikas

Wanda Raimundi Ortiz

Christel Pedersen

Iolanda Pensa


Valérie Portefaix

Emily Lauren Putnam

Michaela Rife

Catarina Riva

Paula Roush

Florencia San Martin

Luisa Santos

Luciana Scaraffuni

Christoph Schenker

Silke Schmickl

Stevphen Shukaitis

Henry F. Skerritt

Michelle Sommer

Maria Spanoudaki

Nobuo Takamori

Aylin Soyer Tangen

Emília Tavares

David Teh

Milanka Todić

Srđan Tunić

Emmanuel Ebere Uzoji

Ken Vandermark

Delia Vekony

Jan Verwoert

Carmen Victor

June Yap

Alessandro Zagato